Winner of 2014 National AAFTA Wearable Art Title

Following the great tradition of Sheldon College students representing Queensland in the Wearable Art division of the Apex Australian Teenage Fashion Awards (AAFTA), 2014 saw Year 11 Sheldon College student Charlotte Balfour travel to Melbourne and claim the Australian title in her beautifully executed “Mermaid” piece of Wearable Art. It is also the first time a Queensland student has claimed the Title.

Almost completely covered in glued on shells, pearls, driftwood and dried starfish, the two piece ensemble took around 100 hours to make over the course of a year and weighed over 11 kilograms.

The National Final was held at the Whitehouse Institute of Fashion in Melbourne on the 25 October and the judging panel consisted of Andrea Panel, the lady behind the name Andrea Yasmin, a Melbourne fashion designer and boutique owner; Laura Dalta Viota, textile artist and former teacher; Natalie Sady, contestant on The Bachelor 2013, and Melbourne event MC and Charity Ambassador; and Sharon Smith, Melbourne Personal Trainer, Mum of three, Big Brother 2013 contestant, and a former Policewoman.

Congratulations to Charlotte on her well-deserved win.


2014 smART Exhibition Celebrates Emerging Artists

A large crowd of Visual Art Patrons experienced a sophisticated, sensory and spectacular evening of Fine Art at the Sheldon College Senior Art (smART) Exhibition last Wednesday evening. The annual flagship event for the Visual Arts Department was held in the Senior Learning Centre and presented an eclectic collection of sculptures, paintings, photographs, prints, drawings and Wearable Art to highlight the immense talent of Sheldon College students studying in the creative arts.

Proceedings began with the annual parade of our award winning Wearable Artists and their dazzling creations, which featured pieces by both Charlotte Balfour and Taylor Gray, who gained first and second place respectively in the Queensland Category of the Australian Teenage Fashion Awards and will now go on to attend the National Final.

A number of prestigious awards were presented on the evening to our practising artists for their incredible work in both the creation and critique of artworks. Our Visual Literacy Award Winners for Art Critique were Aliya Yildrim (Year 9), Angel Low (Year 10), Bronwyn Myers (Year 11) and Isabella Ibrahim (Year 12). Each of these students had demonstrated a deep and mature understanding of expressing their thoughts, feelings and opinions through responding in written forms about artworks.

As well as officially graduating our current Year 12 Visual Art students, major creation awards were presented for Emerging Artist to Angel Low (Year 10), The SLC Packers Award to Hannah March (Year 10), Wearable Art Award to Charlotte Balfour (Year 11), Creative Explorer to Damien Randall (Year 12), Original Artwork of the Year to Stacey Whitlock (Year 12), Spirit of the Artist to Taylor Gray (Year 12) and Master Artist to Brooke Smith (Year 12).

The smArt Exhibition showed that Senior Visual Art not only aims to provide students with skills and experiences across a range of media, but also to experiment with, explore and question ideas and concepts. The challenging, or at times confronting, elements of some pieces reflect the serious and deeply reflective analytical and evaluative thought process that the students undertake in the process of creating their pieces. This was another successful and inspirational exhibition by some very talented young artists. 

For further information on the Visual Art programs at Sheldon College, please call (07) 3206 5548 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


ASTA Professionals Fees & Prospectus

2017 ASTA Professionals Fee Structure

Year 9 and 10 Course - $294 per Term
Year 11 and 12 Course - $392 per Term

Please note, the 2018 Fee Structure has not been released to date.

Please click the link below to download a copy of the ASTA Professionals Program prospectus for 2017. For further information on the Australian School of the Arts at Sheldon College, please call (07) 3206 5594 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Arts Academy’s Greatest Hits

Sheldon College celebrated a decade of Arts excellence on Saturday 20 September 2014 when it hosted the 10th Annual Arts Academy Awards at the Sheldon Event Centre.

The black tie evening was a sell out with almost 800 guests in attendance. Sheldon College Alumni played a big part in the evening - presenting awards and performing on stage, including video links from Megan Washington and Connor Crawford who graduated from Sheldon College in 2002 and 2008 respectively. All Senior School Arts were acknowledged in the gala evening and the enthusiastic audience was treated to an outstanding series of performances from the 170 member student cast. Special focus was made of former and current students of the Australian School of the Arts (ASTA) program at Sheldon College.

"Our ASTA Alumni are now firmly established on the local, National and World stage, and the ASTA program continues to grow" Mr Darren Harvey, Director of ASTA

Performances from Jersey Boys, Dream Girls, Les Miserables and The Great Gatsby wowed the crowd, and social media traffic confirmed it was the best Arts Academy Awards of the last 10 years. If you are a talented performer or interested in the Arts, auditions are being held for students currently in Years 8 to 11 for the Australian School of the Arts (ASTA) 2015 program in October.

We are proud to announce the 2014 Arts Academy Award recipients as follows:

Dancer of the Year - Meghann Pruss
Actor of the Year - Travis Johnson
Actress of the Year - Amelia Bannister
2D Multi-Media Artist of the Year - Brooke Smith
Interdisciplinary Media Artist of the Year - Taylor Gray
ASTA Award for Excellence - Caitlin Nolan
Best Emerging Artist of the Year - Micayla van Wyk
Instrumentalist of the Year - Isobel De Leon
Male Vocalist of the Year - Dominic Heiner
Female Vocalist of the Year - Manali Datar
Director of the Year - Isaac Nankavill
Production Group of the Year - Helvetica Republic (Isaac Nankavill, Nicholas Brushe, James Peterson and Amelia Bannister)
Middle College Cultural Award - Alice Wilson
Senior College Cultural Award - Matthew Copley
Gold Award - Isobel De Leon

For more information Australian School of the Arts at Sheldon College, please call (07) 3206 5594 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Subscribe to this RSS feed